Sherbrooke

Location

Sherbrooke is a vibrant and vital city located on the Estrie area. Capital of the touristic region of Eastern Townships, it is located in the southern part of Québec (Canada), 140 km away from Montréal, 220 km from Québec City and about 50 km from the United States’ border.

Sherbrooke: Urban Nature
WATCH VIDEO

Outdoor activities

With its multitude rivers, more than 100 parks and green areas, Sherbrooke is the perfect city for the nature lover:

The Grandes-Fourches cycling network totals more than 120 km of cycling trails, the hiking areas are numerous (one of them being the Parc du Mont-Bellevue, where the university is located) and, what’s even better, is that a lot of these areas are very accessible, such as the Promenade du Lac-des-Nations (a multipurpose urban path that goes around the lake, a few minutes from Sherbrooke’s downtown area) and the Parc Lucien-Blanchard, a large green area with a public beach and a volleyball court, only a 15′ walk away from the University.

More info about cycling trails

More info about hiking trails

And if it ever rains, don’t worry, as it would be a great opportunity to discover Sherbrooke’s interior climbing center, Vertige Escalade!

Sherbrooke: A Vibrant Downtown
WATCH VIDEO

Sherbrooke's artistic scene

Sherbrooke is the host of a large variety of music and theatre shows from widely known artists at the Centre culturel of the Université de Sherbrooke, the Théâtre Granada and the Centennial Theatre.

During the year, but specially on the summer, there are many free music festivals and performances, like the Concerts de la cité, the Sherblues & Folk and the Fête du lac des nations.

Sherbrooke is also known for the variety of its artistic life as well as for supporting emerging artists.

Places and organisms such as La Maison des arts de la parole and Le Tremplin receive storytellers and slammers, and small clubs such as La Petite Boîte Noire welcome emerging music groups.

The improvisation leagues of Sherbrooke, such as L’Abordage and the LUIS also contribute to Sherbrooke’s artistic life.

The city also has an array of places for art exhibits, such as Université de Sherbrooke’s Art Gallery, the Musée des beaux-arts de Sherbrooke, the Sporobole, the Foreman Art Gallery, the Uplands Cultural and Heritage Centre and the Salle du Parvis, which receives local and emergent performance artists as well as art expositions.

If you want to learn more about Sherbrooke, there is also the Société d’histoire de Sherbrooke there to help.

And not to speak about Sherbrooke Nature Science Museum, which proposes a completely differeny way to learn about science and history!

Sherbrooke: Gastronomical
WATCH VIDEO

Restaurants, cafes, bars and microbreweries

Some downtown microbreweries and bars

Enjoy a local crafted beer or discover beers from other microbreweries from Québec at Siboire, Boquébière and La mare au diable*, choose from a panoply of word-class beers at the King Hall or have a drink while playing pool at Liverpool.

*There is also Le Refuge des Brasseurs, close to the university!

Some downtown coffee shops and tea rooms

Take your study books and savour a good cup of coffee at Le Kaàpeh, La brûlerie FARO and Caffuccino or discover a variety of teas at L’arbre à palabre and Folle théière.

Some downtown restaurants

French cuisine at Auguste, Italian at DaToni, American at Ô Chevreuil and at Baumann Smokehouse, Île Maurice specialties at Classyco café, best thai in town at Chanchaï, indian at Masala Café, or a good poutine at Le Snack are some of your options, which varie in style and price, and these are just some of them!

Sherbrooke also has a variety of vegetarian and vegan restaurants (some of them also offer gluten-free options) like Folle théière, the Singing Goat Café and the Café créatif Au croquis (you can actually make your own mug here!). And let’s not forget the Végécafé Vertuose that, while not in downtown, is only a five minute walk away from the university.

Sherbrooke

LocaLisation

Sherbrooke est une ville vibrante située dans la région de l’Estrie. Capitale de la région touristique des Cantons de l’Est, elle est localisée au sud du Québec (Canada), à 140 km de Montréal, 220 km de Québec et environ 50 km de la frontière des États-Unis.

Sherbrooke : nature urbaine
WATCH VIDEO

Plein air

Avec ses rivières, ses plus de 100 parcs et espaces verts, Sherbrooke est la ville parfaite pour les amoureux de la nature.

Le réseau cyclable des Grandes-Fourches totalise plus de 120 km de pistes cyclables. Les sentiers de randonnée pédestre sont nombreux et accessibles, par exemple : le Parc du Mont-Bellevue, situé à côté de l’Université, la Promenade du Lac-des-Nations, un sentier urbain polyvalent qui fait le tour du lac, à quelques pas du centre-ville, et le Parc Lucien-Bouchard, un vaste espace vert avec une plage publique et des terrains de volley-ball, à 15 minutes de marche de l’Université.

Plus d’information à propos des pistes cyclables

Plus d’information à propos des Sentiers de l’Estrie

Et s’il pleut, c’est le moment tout indiqué de découvrir Vertige, le centre d’escalade intérieur!

Sherbrooke : un centre-ville vibrant
WATCH VIDEO

Sherbrooke artistique

Sherbrooke propose de nombreux spectacles d’artistes renommés qui performent au Centre culturel de l’Université de Sherbrooke, au Théâtre Granada et au Théâtre Centennial.

Pendant l’année, et plus particulièrement l’été, il est possible d’assister gratuitement à plusieurs festivals et prestations, par exemple aux Concerts de la Cité, au Sherblues & Folk et à la Fête du Lac des Nations.

Sherbrooke est aussi reconnue pour la diversité de sa vie artistique et pour son support aux artistes émergents.

Les organismes tels que La Maison des arts de la parole et Le Tremplin reçoivent des conteurs et des slammeurs et les petites salles de spectacles comme La Petite Boîte Noire accueille des groupes de musique émergents.

Les ligues d’improvisation de Sherbrooke, comme L’Abordage et la  LUIS contribuent aussi à la vie culturelle et artistique.

La ville propose plusieurs expositions artistiques et performances d’artistes de scène, par exemple à la Galerie d’art du Centre culturel de l’Université de Sherbrooke, au Musée des beaux-arts de Sherbrooke, au Sporobole, à la Galerie d’art Foreman, au Centre culturel et du patrimoine Upland et à la Salle du Parvis.

Si vous voulez en apprendre davantage sur l’histoire de Sherbrooke, la Société d’histoire de Sherbrooke est tout indiquée.

Et c’est sans oublier le Musée de la nature et des sciences de Sherbrooke, qui offre une vision complètement différente de la science et de l’histoire!

Sherbrooke gastronomique
WATCH VIDEO

Restaurants, cafés, bars et microbrasseries

Quelques microbrasseries et bars du centre-ville

Dégustez une bière sherbrookoise ou provenant d’autres microbrasseries québécoises au Siboire, au Boquébière et à La mare au diable*, choisissez parmi une panoplie de bières réputées au King Hall ou rendez-vous au Liverpool pour prendre un verre en jouant au billard.

*Près de l’Université, vous trouverez aussi Le Refuge des Brasseurs!

Quelques cafés et salons de thé

Apportez vos livres et savourez une bonne tasse de café au Kaàpeh, à La brûlerie FARO ou au Caffuccino ou découvrez une variété de thés à L’arbre à palabre ou à la Folle théière.

Quelques restaurants du centre-ville

Cuisine française à l’Auguste, italienne au DaToni, américaine au Ô Chevreuil et au Baumann Smokehouse, spécialités de l’Île Maurice au Classyco café, le meilleur thaï en ville au Chanchaï, cuisine indienne au Masala Café, ou une bonne poutine au Snack sont quelques-unes de vos options!

Sherbrooke offre aussi une variété de restaurants végétariens et végétaliens (avec des options sans gluten) tels que la Folle théière, le Singing Goat Café et le Café créatif Au croquis. Sans oublier le Végécafé Vertuose qui lui se trouve seulement à quelques minutes de l’Université.